This post may contain affiliate links for which I earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. For more info, check out my Disclosure Policy. Thank you for your support!

It’s coming up to the most wonderful time of the year, so I thought I’d tackle a question I get asked a lot: which Christmas chocolates are gluten free?

In the UK there are lots of festive chocolates which are coeliac-safe and I’m listing as many as possible here.

While this list is my no means exclusive, I’ve tried to list the most popular gluten free Christmas chocolates available in the UK.

I’ve also listed some of the common festive treats which are NOT gluten free that I get asked about a lot.

This guide is accurate at the time of writing but PLEASE always double check as ingredients lists and ‘may contain’ warnings change all the time.

And don’t forget if you want more advice, check out my Gluten Free Christmas page as well as my full gluten free Christmas guide.

I’d also recommend you download the Coeliac UK Gluten Free Food Checker App ahead of your Christmas shopping.

You can use this to scan scan the barcodes of foods and it will tell you whether they are gluten free or not.

gluten free christmas chocolates uk 2022
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

The following Christmas chocolates ARE suitable for a gluten free diet

All of the chocolates listed below have no gluten in the ingredients and no ‘may contain’ warnings, making them safe for people with coeliac disease.

  • Cadbury’s Roses
  • Quality Street 
  • Quality Street Favourites: The Purple One
  • Quality Street Favourites: Orange Crisp
  • Cadbury’s Heroes (except the Dinky Decker)
  • KitKat Christmas Breaks (Santas and Festive Friends – single and multipacks)
  • All flavours of Matchmakers
  • Terry’s Chocolate Orange Crispy Oranges
  • Aero Snowbubbles
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Trees
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Snowman
  • Bailey’s Chocolate Selection Box
  • Benedick’s Mint Collection
  • Toblerone
  • Toblerone Golden Caramel
  • Toblerone White
  • After Eights
  • Milky Bar Festive Friends White Chocolate

Are Lindor chocolates gluten free?

I also wanted to include a more comprehensive note on Lindor chocolates as I know there can be some confusion with these.

Over the years advice has changed as some of the products contain barley but are still classed as gluten free.

Any Lindor products where the only gluten-containing cereal is ‘barley malt extract’ are considered gluten free as the levels are below 20ppm.

This means a lot of the Lindor truffles are considered gluten free in the UK and suitable for people with coeliac disease.

The following Lindor truffles are also completely free from any gluten containing ingredients:

  • Lindor White Chocolate Truffles
  • Lindor Strawberries and Cream Truffles

Of course, as Lindt says: “Please always refer to the ingredient list on the product’s packaging for definitive advice.”

This list of gluten free chocolates is not exclusive and I will add more gluten free Christmas chocolates as I find them.

Please do always double check as although these are accurate at the time of writing, ingredients may vary and change.

gluten free christmas chocolates uk 2022 5
Not all chocolates on the shelves are suitable for a gluten free diet.

The following Christmas chocolates ARE suitable for a gluten free diet AND dairy free

All of the chocolates listed below have no gluten in the ingredients and no ‘may contain’ warnings, making them safe for people with coeliac disease.

They are also dairy free so perfect if you have multiple allergens.

  • All Moo Free chocolates
  • NOMO Caramel Drops
  • NOMO Reindeer
  • Rhythm 108 Truffle Selection
  • Booja Booja Selection Box of Truffles
nomo vegan gluten free chocolate reindeer

All of these Christmas chocolates either contain gluten or have a ‘may contain’ warning making them unsuitable for people with coeliac disease.

Of course there are a lot of other chocolates which are not gluten free but these are some of the ones I get asked about the most:

  • All Lindor truffles not listed above
  • Ferrero Rocher – these contain wheat
  • Malteasers – any form of Malteasers contain wheat and barley
  • Terry’s Chocolate Orange – has a ‘may contain’ warning
  • Celebrations (they have a cross contamination risk and some contain barley)
  • Tony’s Chocolonely Tiny Christmas Pouch – has a ‘may contain’ warning
  • Thorntons Continental Milk, Dark, White Chocolate Gift Box – has a ‘may contain’ warning
  • Thornton’s Classic – has a ‘may contain’ warning
  • Galaxy Assorted Truffles – has a ‘may contain’ warning

Of course again, recipes do change so always make sure you double check and remember this list is not exclusive.

gluten free christmas chocolates uk 2022
Most Cadbury’s products (with a few exceptions) have a ‘may contain’ warning for gluten.

Spotted any more gluten free Christmas chocolates?

There are obviously hundreds (if not thousands) more chocolates around at Christmas but these seem to come up regularly in gluten free forums.

It’s important you always double check the ingredients as these can often change.

This post was last updated in September 2022 so if you’re reading this in the future, be aware recipes may have changed.

If you do spot any more gluten free Christmas chocolates please let me know in the comments below so I can update this list!

You Might Also Like:

About Sarah Howells

Hi, I'm Sarah! Diagnosed with coeliac disease 20 years ago, I'm on a mission to create the best gluten free recipes since sliced bread. No fruit salads or dry brownies here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    1. Thank you for this helpful list. Regarding Cadbury chocolate products, if they are manufactured in the main Birmingham factory there is a risk of cross-contamination as they also produce cake items. However, a number of items in their range are manufactured in their Ireland factory, which only handles chocolate, and is fine.

  1. Toffifee Limited Edition White Chocolate and
    Toffifee Limited Edition White Chocolate
    are both gluten free – as far as I can see.