This post may contain affiliate links for which I earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. For more info, check out my Disclosure Policy. Thank you for your support!

I get asked a lot of questions about eating gluten free at McDonald’s – and the good news is there are options here in the UK!

McDonald’s may not serve gluten free burger buns in the UK (scroll down for some places where they do serve them) but you can buy several options.

Of course, getting a gluten free meal may not be the same as walking in and ordering a 99p cheeseburger.

In the UK, the buns at McDonald’s are not gluten free, but some of the fillings and sides are.

Please be aware, however, if you’re reading this in the US or any other country, what is gluten free will be completely different.

This guide to eating gluten free in McDonald’s was updated in September 2020, but it’s always wise to double check with each individual restaurant.

mcdonald's gluten free in the uk
Want to save this recipe?
Just enter your email and get it sent to your inbox! Plus you’ll get new recipes from us every week!
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

Does McDonald’s have a gluten free menu?

Unlike many restaurants, McDonald’s doesn’t specifically have a gluten free menu.

However, there are allergen menus available in each restaurant and online

The allergy menu lists each of the 14 allergens in its individual products.

The McDonald’s allergy menu does have a section at the start on cross contamination, which does not mention gluten apart from where the bread/bagels/muffins are concerned.

On it’s website, McDonald’s states it “cannot make a claim any of our food is gluten free in the UK. This is because we’re not able to guarantee the prevention of cross contamination with gluten, when preparing gluten free food.”

However it does state there are options on the menu which have no gluten containing ingredients.

When it comes to options, a lot of the fillings are gluten free if you take away the bun.

The red pepper and pesto goujons are gluten free (coated in a rice flour crumb) and the beef burgers are also gluten free. (Although currently due to some manufacturing issue, they’re temporarily out of stock)

The Big Mac sauce and the cheese are also gluten free – so you can order this without the bun too.

Personally, I always bring my own gluten free bun and then just compile my own burger.

It’s not quite the same but no-one has ever told me off for doing it.

mcdonalds gluten free veggie dippers

Are McDonald’s fries gluten free?

McDonald’s fries in the UK do not contain any gluten containing ingredients.

The allergy menu states they can be cooked in the same oil as the red pepper and pesto goujons (aka Veggie Dippers).

However, the good news is that these McDonald’s veggie dippers are also gluten free!

In most UK stores, the McDonald’s fries are cooked in a dedicated fryer but it’s always worth checking with the manager as I understand some stores use filtered oil instead of fresh.

Most restaurants I’ve been in have been perfectly safe but it’s always really important to double check in a new store.

For anyone reading this in the US, it’s important to be aware that this only stands in the UK.

In the McDonald’s fries in the US are NOT gluten free as they are coated in a wheat flavouring (found this out the hard way once!)

This is why it’s super important to check with each individual store, especially if it’s an international chain!

mcdonald's fries gluten free

Is there a gluten free burger bun in McDonald’s UK?

The simple answer is no – McDonald’s in the UK does not offer a gluten free burger bun.

But why is the UK so far behind all the European countries which do offer them?

According to the McDonald’s website, the company has no plans to introduce gluten free buns to its menu any time soon.

They claim the kitchen set up cannot guarantee there will be no cross contamination.

The company’s official line says: “The kitchen layout and equipment available in our restaurants located around the world vary.

“To offer gluten-free buns, we would need separate storage and toasting equipment in place to prevent cross-contamination, which many of our U.K. restaurants kitchens do not currently have the capacity to provide.”

So, I wouldn’t hold your breath on that one. Until then, I’ll keep bringing my own bun…

gluten free mcdonald's

What about McDonald’s gluten free breakfast options?

There are quite a few items on the McDonald’s breakfast menu which are gluten free.

Important things first – the McDonald’s hash browns do NOT contain any gluten.

The bacon, eggs and pork sausage sausage patties are also all free from gluten.

So there are quite a few options you can make up here if you’re desperate for a Maccy’s breakfast.

You won’t be able to eat any of the muffins, buns or bagels, but you can order any of the options minus the bread item.

My personal favourite is to order a bacon and egg McMuffin meal, minus the muffin, and then an extra hash brown.

Then I can use the hash browns as a ‘bun’ – it’s a bit greasy but my God, it’s good!

Items which are not gluten free include the pancakes, all breads, porridge and muffins.

mcdonald's gluten free breakfast options UK

Are McFlurries gluten free?

The good news is the base ice-cream of a McFlurry IS gluten free – but the real deal breaker is the toppings.

The Cadbury’s Dairy Milk and Flake McFlurries ARE both gluten free.

However, at the time of writing, McDonald’s is offering a Malteasers, Oreo or Smarties McFlurry.

Unfortunately, none of these toppings are gluten free as they all contain wheat, so they would not be safe to eat.

When it comes to the other desserts and sweets, most of them contain gluten.

All of the cakes, as well as the apple pie, are all off limits.

Oh – but of course the fruit bag is fine. And we know how much people with coeliac disease love a fruit salad for pudding, right!?

Are McDonald’s milkshakes gluten free?

IMPORTANT UPDATE APRIL 2024: As of April 17th, McDonald’s is introducing a special Biscoff Frappe. This drink is NOT gluten free and means while it is running, several of its drinks will have a ‘may contain’ warning for wheat and not be suitable for people with coeliac disease. Those drinks are:

  • Mango and Pineapple Smoothie
  • Frozen Strawberry Lemonade
  • Caramel Iced Frappe
  • Plus the Biscoff Frappe itself is NOT gluten free!

This will be until further notice – I’ll update this post when this is updated/removed.

According to the McDonald’s website and its allergy menu, all of its milkshakes do not contain any gluten.

This means the McDonald’s milkshakes, which come in banana, chocolate, strawberry and vanilla flavour, are all gluten free.

As well as this, none of McDonald’s fizzy drinks contain gluten so they are all safe to drink.

All of the McDonald’s coffees, tea and hot chocolate are gluten free.

The McDonald’s iced latte is gluten free, as is the caramel iced frappé, the frozen strawberry lemonade and the mango & iced pineapple smoothie.

You can find a full updated list of all the drinks on their allergy information document here.

mcdonald's gluten free iced coffee

Are McDonald’s chicken nuggets gluten free?

Sadly, McDonald’s chicken nuggets are not gluten free.

The only ‘breaded’ item on the menu that is gluten free are the red pepper and pesto goujons.

These veggie dippers are coated in a rice crumb – and are gluten free and vegan. 

You can order them as part of the Vegetable Deluxe meal (minus the bun) or just on their own.

And of course, the side salad is gluten free, so you can bulk up your meal with that.

The following dips and sauces are also gluten free: Tomato ketchup, sweet curry dip, smoky BBQ dip, sweet chilli dip, sour cream & chive dip, balsamic dressing.

mcdonald's gluten free veggie dippers

Where can I get a gluten free McDonald’s burger bun?

Although you can’t get a gluten free burger at McDonald’s in the UK, you CAN find gluten free burgers in quite a few European countries!

So if you’re heading on holiday and can’t decide on the destination, this may help you out.

In Europe you can get a gluten free McDonald’s in the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Czech Republic
  • Italy 
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Spain 
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

There may also be some other places you can grab a gluten free McDonald’s so this list is by no means inclusive.

So there you go – if you’re desperate for those burgers and fries, you better book a flight somewhere in Europe, pronto!

mcdonald's gluten free in the uk

More tips for eating out on a gluten free diet

Hopefully one day I can update this post to say that gluten free buns have arrived in the UK.

But until that day, always remember to double check when you do place an order.

All restaurants will have different procedures in place with regards to cross contamination and often menus change.

I’ll try to keep this post updated as much as I can but definitely always keep double checking so you don’t get caught out.

If you’re looking for more coeliac tips, you may find some of the following posts helpful:

Liked my gluten free McDonald’s tips?

Sign up for my newsletter for more gluten free tips and tricks in your inbox each month.

Gluten free McDonald's guide - UK (Updated 2020)
delicious gluten free meals a cookbook by sarah howells

Get my cookbook!

Want more gluten free meals inspiration? My debut cookbook, Delicious Gluten Free Meals, has 100+ gluten free recipes, from breakfast and lunch ideas to dinners, desserts and sides.

You Might Also Like:

About Sarah Howells

Hi, I'm Sarah! Diagnosed with coeliac disease 20 years ago, I'm on a mission to create the best gluten free recipes since sliced bread. No fruit salads or dry brownies here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. My husband is a burger fan and loves Burger King and MacDonalds. I used to take my own roll in but had issue with cross contamination. A lot of MacDonalds use the same fryer for chips which are GF and for Onion Rings and some veg Iranian thing which neither ar GF. The branch manager here told me that one. Since every time I’ve gone I take my own lunch with me and have never had a issue with eating with my husband. Indeed I have had managers who have gone out of their way to help and even phoning to find out for certain about things I’ve asked about. These days I can’t take the risk but still go in and they know us and when there has been a “clean down” as our local one calls it, when my husband has ordered they have actually throw into his order a extra set of fries for me as it’s the only time it’s safe for me to have them. Get to know the staff at your local MacDonalds etc they have gone out of their way to be helpful for us. But nowhere we have been has ever had issue with me bringing my own food in to eat alongside my husband even those with a gluten free menu.

  2. hello everyone, Are you looking for a professional trader, forex and binary manager who will help you trade and manage your account with a good and massive amount of profit in return. you can contact MR. Benson for your investment plan inorder to get started. for he helped me earned 12,000£ with a little investment money. Benson you’re the best trader I can recommend for anyone who wants to invest and trade with a genuine trader, he also helps in recovery of loss can contact him on his WhatsApp: +17168691327

  3. New to gluten free and i have to commend you on your info – its been really helpful – bought apps etc which are not helpful so will be finding your google figures going up for sure!

  4. Very helpful article thank you. I did not know some McDonald’s restaurants use filtered oil so will ask next time I’m in. I love the new vegan burger which is also gluten free. Great for me because I’m also on a dairy free diet.